Macarooooooooon!

Every time I say macaron, my mind can’t help but say macarooooooon, like Rupaul Saying “Camerooooon!” when Bebe Zahara Bonet walked into the room.

 

Okay, now that that’s out of the way.

So, I’ve been on a macaron kick. Confession: I actually don’t like them. Like at all. They do nothing for me. BUT Michael loves these things and they’re fancy…and I do love making fancy things. Plus, they look like easter eggs, so they were the perfect easter treat for my eventual-in-laws.

IMG_1848

Here’s the rundown. First, I used a youtube tutorial and recipe which helped a ton:

 

A few things from my experiences:

First, I couldn’t sift the almond flour (which is why mine are slightly rougher than hers). I’m not sure why–it likely has something to do with the mill of almond flour, but it also seemed that the oils in the almond flour made it harder. Perhaps I used too find of sieve (but then again, any thicker mesh wouldn’t have separated enough…so who knows). Regardless, using 3 different brands, I couldn’t sift it.

Second, contrary to her tips, I actually had a much better result from cold egg whites. Why? No clue.

Third, I just piped it from a large ziplock bag. No need to be fancy. It’s not like you’re making macarons or anyth….

Finally, in the mixing process, don’t be afraid to mix more vigorously than you would expect. This is not a gentle fold. This is mixing. When the mixture is combined, it will still hold it’s shape, which will result in not-rounded tops, so you just want to mix and slacken the mixture a bit more so that when you pipe it, it relaxes and the piping shape disappears. However, it shouldn’t be so slack that doesn’t hold shape and just spreads out. It’s a fine line (though too thick is better than too runny for sure).

I made two kinds: violet blackberry, and tropical.

Violet Blackberry Macarons 

Follow the instructions from the video, but use purple food coloring and add 1 t. of creme de violette to the egg whites during the whipping process.

To make the filling, blend 1 package of blackberries (could easily use boysenberries too), 1 T. creme de violette, a dash of sugar and a 1 t. of lemon juice in a processor then strain.

Stir in 1 heaping teaspoon of corn starch and then heat in a pan string vigorously until it thickens into a gel. You could easily thicken with gelatin or pectin, but I find those harder, personally.

Once the macarons are done, spread in a bit of gel, and all done!

Tropical Macarons 

Follow the instructions from the video, but color orange, yellow, pink, or perhaps even blue. Something tropical-y.

To make the filling, skin and slice 1 underripe mango and put it in the processor with 1/2 c. guava nectar and 1/4 c. passionfruit syrup (I use bar syrup from Bevmo, though you can easily use puree or juice if you adjust corn starch and sugar). You shouldn’t need to add sugar here, because the guava and passionfruit are really sweet–I say to use an underripe mango because the tartness works really well to balance the mixture without having to add lemon–but blend the mixture smooth and taste it for sugar anyway. Strain it, and add 2 T. of corn starch. Stir vigorously over heat until it thickens.

Once again, slather the macarons and sandwich them.

Leave a Reply

